Lime Cheesecake, the best!!

When it comes to desserts, there’s nothing more satisfying than a slice or two of delicious cheesecake after a scrumptious meal. I can be how stuffed, but will always have space for cheesecake to end off a good feast. Mind you, it’s a treat and one I seldom indulge in, other than at restaurants when I’m not paying. Lol!!

I’ve looked high and low for stress-free cheesecake recipes over the years and not attempted one… ever! There are two types of cheesecakes, the baked and then the fridge kind which is my favourite out of the two. The baked cheesecake tends to be very heavy and dry, well, the ones I tasted.

I stumbled across a recipe which on the onset looked easy enough for a novice like me to try for the first time. I’ve not found a cheesecake I liked from any bakery, supermarket or deli other than at restaurants. Most are too rich and I end up wasting it as no one else in the house eats cheesecakes.

It was a wintery Saturday afternoon when I decided to finally try my hand at a cheesecake. As always, my little helper, Lee, was very eager to dive right into the making of daddy’s favourite dessert. I, on the other hand, was not that eager as I tried my hand at baking and failed miserably. One thing about baking I don’t like, is the mess you need to clean up afterwards.

The other concern about making your own cheesecake as a treat is the cost of making one. It’s cheaper buying a slice than to buy the ingredients to make one. Most cheesecakes require cream cheese, which is very expensive. Not this recipe though, all I needed was smooth cottage cheese for the filling. Also, there was no baking involved. Yeah!!

The end result was amazing and I had a slice of cheesecake every evening, for the entire week thereafter. Paradise!! The texture and taste was exactly to my liking and I could not remember when last I had a cheesecake that good. The washing up was a breeze and the kitchen was clean within minutes.

Below is the recipe for you to try.

Lee helping out preparing the Cheesecake base

Lee helping out preparing the Cheesecake base

Cheesecake for every day!!

Cheesecake for every day!!

Ingredients
500g smooth cottage cheese
90g unsalted melted butter
1 pkt tennis biscuits
250ml full cream
90g icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
20ml lime juice for a lime flavoured cheesecake (optional)

Topping
100g frozen or fresh berries
10ml lemon juice
30ml icing sugar (to taste)
50ml water

Method

Base

  1. Crush tennis biscuits in a plastic bag till fine. Use a rolling pin or meat tenderiser.
  2. Add melted butter to crushed biscuits in a bowl and mix well until crumbs are completely coated. It should look like wet sand.
  3. Butter and line a 23cm loose-bottomed tin with baking parchment/grease proof paper.
  4. Tip crumb mixture into prepared tin and press firmly down into base to create an even layer. Take your time with this.
  5. Chill in Fridge for 1 hour to set.

Filling

  1. Place cottage cheese, icing sugar and vanilla essence in a bowl and beat with electric mixer until smooth.
  2. Add cream and continue beating until mixture is completely combined.
  3. Poor mixture onto set biscuit base and smooth out with a spatula, making sure there’s no air bubbles.
  4. Leave to set in fridge overnight.

Topping

  1. Heat up a sauce pan on medium heat and add berries, sugar and lemon juice.
  2. Let the berries render their juices and add water.
  3. For a rustic look you can leave sauce as is or put through a sift for a smoother sauce.
  4. Leave to cool before pooring over set cheesecake and put back in fridge for topping to set.
  5. Decorate cheesecake with fresh strawberries or any leftover berries.

A Slice of heaven

A Slice of heaven


Perfection!!

Perfection!!

I know its winter, but for me cheesecake is always the answer… no matter what the problem!!

Let me know how your attempted went and maybe send a slice over! Lol!!

This entry was posted in No Bake Cheesecake and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

